“Water Cycle” for orchestra (2017)

In Recordings on October 30, 2017 at 2:32 pm

This is a cyclic work which is motivated by the harmonic series.
The first movement is based on “String Sextet” composed in 2013.
As this sextet is composed with only natural harmonics, to this orchestration, I applied the winds at a one octave lower series of strings.
The second movement is based on an excerpt from “Trio for violin, cello and piano” (2015).
The materials of this movement are natural harmonic arpeggio and tremolo, and the roar of accord which is applied to the inversion of harmonic series.
The conclusion of the movement and the third movement (Finale) are based on “Brass Quintet” (2011) and the piece for wind instruments (2013) which is a revision of “Brass Quintet”.

Sydney Contemporary Orchestra
conducted by Dr Brian Chatpo Koo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: