“Imprisonment” for 13 players (2017)

In Program Notes on May 27, 2018 at 3:00 pm

This work is a revised version of two works.
The first one is “DNA” for violin solo (composed 2015). The first three minutes of this composition consist of only four pitches: the open G-string, A flat on the D-string, F sharp on the A-string and F on the E-string. These four pitches are repeated while changing their combination and rhythm patterns. In the second half, the pitches are connected by “helical” strands of sixteenth notes.
The second original piece is “Imprisonment” for String Quartet (2016), which is a revised version of “DNA” for solo violin. I also revised the title to reflect my feeling that all creatures are as though imprisoned by their DNA chain. Those who are imprisoned are restricted their liberty and their belongings, just as this work is “imprisoned” by its limited range of notes.


ISCM World New Music Days 2018 Beijing

In Latest News on May 12, 2018 at 4:29 am

The annual ISCM World New Music Days 2018 and Beijing Modern Music Festival 2018  will be held in Beijing, in May 19-26, 2018.

Founded in 1922 at Salzburg, Austria, International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) is an organization aimed to promote contemporary music. It holds World New Music Days in a different country each year, with the purpose of promoting the composition and performance of top contemporary music works. A large number of master composers have earned their fame through ISCM in its 92-year history. Upholding the concept of aesthetic diversity of music, ISCM displays the diverse development of contemporary new music, and encourages composers to submit works of various styles. Over the years, a large number of works by renowned composers have been performed by ISCM.

Thursday 24th May 2018, 7:30pm
CCOM (Central Conservatory of Music) Opera & Concert Hall
Beijing, China

The programme includes
“Imprisonment” for 13 players [world premiere] /
Satoru Ikeda
Tianjin Symphony Orchestra
conducted by Yang Li

Tickets sale Tel:010-66425899 Ms.Xu / 66425727 Ms.Liu


“Water Cycle” for orchestra (2017)

In Recordings on October 30, 2017 at 2:32 pm

This is a cyclic work which is motivated by the harmonic series.
The first movement is based on “String Sextet” composed in 2013.
As this sextet is composed with only natural harmonics, to this orchestration, I applied the winds at a one octave lower series of strings.
The second movement is based on an excerpt from “Trio for violin, cello and piano” (2015).
The materials of this movement are natural harmonic arpeggio and tremolo, and the roar of accord which is applied to the inversion of harmonic series.
The conclusion of the movement and the third movement (Finale) are based on “Brass Quintet” (2011) and the piece for wind instruments (2013) which is a revision of “Brass Quintet”.

Sydney Contemporary Orchestra
conducted by Dr Brian Chatpo Koo